Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
More Search Tips
Scroll down for:
- Article Search Tips
- How to Save Articles
- Research Strategies Workshop Videos
The Literature Review
Literature Review: An Overview for Graduate Students
This video was developed by the librarians at North Carolina State University. It clearly explains what a literature review is, how it fits into the research process, and what types of materials will be included in a literature review.
How do I know if my article is scholarly?
Article Search Tips
Some things to remember when searching for a journal article:
- Be sure to mark the "Peer-Reviewed" box in EBSCO if you are looking for scholarly articles.
- Use the database you are searching to find "Subjects" or "Descriptors" for your topic keywords. For more information on this check out the Research Strategies Workshops.
- Some articles will be available in PDF or HTML format and can be downloaded or emailed to yourself.
- If full text insn't available, be sure to click on the "Get This" button to see if the article is in full text from another source.
- Anything not available in full text can be requested via Interlibrary Loan.
- Interlibrary Loans can take from 2 days to 2 weeks to arrive, or for you to receive notification that the article request cannot be filled.
Research Strategies Workshop Videos
Research Strategies, Part 1: Creating a Research Question
This 5 minute tutorial will help you to think about how to create a research question to begin your library research.
Research Strategies, Part 2: Choosing Keywords and Subjects
This video will help you to figure out what subject discipline your topic is related to and how to come up with keywords for your topic.
Research Strategies, Part 3: Scholarship and the Literature Review
This video helps to define what is considered scholarly information for research.
Research Strategies, Part 4: Accessing the Library Webpage and Logging In
This video will help you to use the library website to locate library databases and show you how to log in from off campus.
Research Strategies, Part 5: Finding Background Information
Encyclopedias are great places to begin your research and collect background information on your topic. This video will show you how to access hundreds of specialized online Encyclopedias.
Research Strategies, Part 6: Accessing Greenville's Online Databases
This video will show you how to access databases for scholarly research and give tips on how to know what database to search for your topic.
Research Strategies, Part 7: Finding Databases and Articles Using Keywords
This video shows how to do a search for scholarly articles and how to save or email your results.
Research Strategies, Part 8: Getting at the FullText
This video will explain what full-text is and how you can get your articles online or via Interlibrary Loan.
Research Strategies, Part 9: Advanced Search Tips
Boolean searches and using Subject headings can provide you with a much better search result set. This video will help you learn how to maximize both for a better list of scholarly articles.
Research Strategies, Part 10: Finding Books and Using I-Share
This final part will help you to get books on your topic and explain how the I-Share network is beneficial to you.