LibGuides: Sport and Exercise Science: Find Background Information

Background Info

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Looking for a quick fact, definition, or brief introduction? Search the Credo Reference collection of hundreds of full-text reference books. These sources cover a wide variety of subjects from art to technology and come from a variety of publishers.
Greenville University Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Use this catalog to find books, e-books, and other materials in the GU Library Collection. If you don't find what you want in the GU Library Catalog, you should search the I-Share Catalog to find items in other Illinois academic libraries.
Sage Knowledge eReference This link opens in a new window
Use this resource to find scholarly articles in subject-specialized encyclopedias published by Sage.

Benders' Dictionary of Nutrition and Food Technology. 2006. (Credo)
Encyclopedia of Sport and Exercise Psychology. 2014. (Sage)
"Entries explore the theory, research, and application of psychology as it relates to sport and fitness in a manner that is accessible and jargon-free to help readers better understand human behavior in sport and exercise settings. From personal factors to situational factors influencing performance to specific psychological techniques for enhancing performance, this work provides comprehensive coverage of the field via approximately 350 to 400 signed entries."
Harvard Medical School Special Health Reports. 2012. (Credo)
Key Concepts in Sport & Exercise Sciences. 2008. (Credo)
"Provides students and scholars with a fail-safe guide to the key concepts in the field of Sport and Exercise Science."
Key Concepts in Sports Studies. 2009. (Credo)
"Written by experienced academics used to teaching the subject, this book will help students and researchers find their way within the diverse field of sport studies."
World Atlas of Sport. 2011. (Credo)
"The atlas traces the emergence of sport in its modern forms, and features all established Olympic sports and sports recognized by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) but not included in the Olympic programme, as well as sports with their own cultural and organizational base and commercial momentum. "