LibGuides: Religion and Theology: Find Background Information

Encyclopedia Collections

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Looking for a quick fact, definition, or brief introduction? Search the Credo Reference collection of hundreds of full-text reference books. These sources cover a wide variety of subjects from art to technology and come from a variety of publishers.
Sage Knowledge eReference This link opens in a new window
Use this resource to find scholarly articles in subject-specialized encyclopedias published by Sage.

General

Encyclopedia of African Religion. 2009. (Sage)
Encyclopedia of Philosophers on Religion. 2008. (Credo)
Encyclopedia of Religion. 1987. 16 vols. (R. 200 En18)
Encyclopedia of Religious and Spiritual Development. 2006. (Sage)
Encyclopedia of Women and World Religion. 1999. 2 vols. (R. 200.82 En19)
Human Rights and the World's Major Religions. 2005. 5 vols. (R.201.72 H88)
Includes volumes on the Jewish, Christian, Islamic, Hindu, and Buddhist traditions.
Science, Religion, and Society: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Controversy. 2007. 2 vols. (R.201.65 Sci27)

Quick Reference

Islam

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World. 2004. 2 vols. (R. 297.03 En19)
The Meaning of the Holy Qu'ran. 11th ed. 2006. (R.297.1 AL41)
Need to Know? Islam. 2008. (Credo)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World. 2009. 6 vols. (R.909.0976 Ox25a)

Judaism

Encyclopaedia Judaica. 1971-1972. 16 vols. (R. 296 En19)
Encyclopedia of Judaism. 1999. 3 vols. (R. 296 En196)
The New Encyclopedia of Judaism. 2002. (Credo)

Bible

The Anchor Bible Dictionary. 1992. 6 vols. (R.220.3 AN21)
Ancient Near Eastern Texts Relating to the Old Testament. 3rd ed. with Supplement. 1969. (R. 221.93 An22)
Ancient Texts for New Testament Studies: A Guide to the Background Literature. 2005. (225.95 Ev15)
Bible Map Atlas with Biblical Background and Culture. 2012. (220.91 W93)
Biblica: the Bible Atlas: A Social and Historical Journey through the Lands of the Bible. 2007. (R. 220.9 B47)
The Blackwell Companion to Paul. 2011. (227.06 B56)
Blackwell Companion to the Hebrew Bible. 2001. (221.6 B56)
A Concise Dictionary of Bible Origins and Interpretation, revised ed. 2006. (EBSCO)
The Dead Sea Scrolls Bible: The Oldest Known Bible. 1999. (221.5 D25, one copy on General Reserve)
Dictionary for Theological Interpretation of the Bible. 2005. (R.220.3 D555)
Dictionary of Biblical Imagery. 1998. (EBSCO)
Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels. 1992. (EBSCO). Also available in print at call #R.226.03 D56.
Dictionary of New Testament Background : A Compendium of Contemporary Biblical Scholarship. 2000. (EBSCO) Also available in print at call # R.225.95 D56.
Dictionary of Paul and His Letters: A Compendium of Contemporary Biblical Scholarship. 1993. (EBSCO) Also available in print at call # R.227.03 D56.
Dictionary of the English Bible and Its Origins. 2000. (EBSCO)
Dictionary of the Later New Testament & Its Developments : A Compendium of Contemporary Biblical Scholarship. 1997. (EBSCO)
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Historical Books. 2005. (EBSCO) Also available in print at call # R.222 D56.
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Pentateuch: A Compendium of Contemporary Biblical Scholarship. 2003. (EBSCO) Also available in print at call # R.222.1 D56.
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Prophets. 2012. (R.224 D56)
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Wisdom, Poetry & Writings. 2008. (R. 223 D56)
Exegetical Dictionary of the New Testament. 3 vols. 1990-1993. (R. 225.48 EX32)
A New English Translation of the Septuagint: And the Other Greek Translations Traditionally Included under That Title. 2007. (R. 221.48 B47p)
The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible. 2006-2009. 5 vols. (R.220.3 N422)
The Online Liddell-Scott-Jones Greek-English Lexicon. (part of Thesaurus Linguae Graecae)
Theological Dictionary of the New Testament. 1964-1976. 10 vols. (R.487.3 K65)
Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament. 1974-2004. 14 vols. (R.221.3 B65)
Theological Interpretation of the New Testament : A Book-by-book Survey. 2008. (EBSCO)
Theological Interpretation of the Old Testament : A Book-by-book Survey. 2008. (EBSCO)
The Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible. 2009. 5 vols. (R. 220.3 Z75)

Christianity

Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology. 2011. (Credo)
Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity. 2014. 3 vols. (R. 270.1 N92)
Encyclopedia of Christianity. 1999-2005. 4 vols. (R.230 Ev147)
The Encyclopedia of Protestantism. 2004. 4 vols. (R.280.403 En19)
Encyclopedia of the Early Church. 1992. 2 vols. (R. 270.1 En19)
Encyclopedia of the Historical Jesus. 2008. (R.232.9 En19)
New Catholic Encyclopedia. 2nd ed. 2003. 15 vols. (R.282.03 N422).
The New Interpreter's Handbook of Preaching. 2008. (R. 251 N42)
The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church. 3rd ed. revised. 2005. (R.260 Ox25)
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation. 1996. 4 vols. (R. 270.6 Ox2)
The Oxford Handbook of Early Christian Studies. 2008. (R.270.1 Oc26)

Religion and Theology: Find Background Information

Background Resources

Subject Areas

Encyclopedia Collections

General

Quick Reference

Islam

Judaism

Bible

Christianity