Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
More Internet Resources
Scroll down for:
- Criminal Justice
- Websites About Facts & Statistics
Internet Research: What is Credible?
National Criminal Justice Reference Service
The NCJRS Abstracts Database contains summaries of the more than 210,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Library collection.
Websites About Facts & Statistics
Here are links to some great fact checking and statistical websites to use in your research:
A project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center. A great place to check the validity of information seen on the internet and in the news.
Pew Research Center
To quote their mission: "The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. The center conducts public opinion polling, demographic studies, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. It does not take positions on policy issues."
Statistical Abstracts of the United States
Sponsored by the U.S. Census Bureau, this site provides data about America and Americans that was published in the Statistical Abstracts of the United States from 1978-2012. It includes data from the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.