LibGuides: Sciences: Find Articles

General Article Databases

While they do not focus exclusively on the sciences, these general databases include many scientific topics as well as a variety of other subjects.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This enormous multi-disciplinary database covers a broad range of subjects. It includes abstracts as well as some full text for many titles in the sciences.
JSTOR (Academic Journals Archive) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR archives the full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in the arts and sciences. The publication date of the most recent issue varies by journal title, with a moving wall anywhere from one to ten years back.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Complete full text of scholarly articles in over 400 journals published by Sage Publications.

Some things to remember when searching for a journal article:

Be sure to mark the "Peer-Reviewed" box in EBSCO if you are looking for scholarly articles.
Use the database you are searching to find "Subjects" or "Descriptors" for your topic keywords. For more information on this check out the Research Strategies Workshops.
Some articles will be available in PDF or HTML format and can be downloaded or emailed to yourself.
If full text isn't available, be sure to click on the "Get This" button to see if the article is in full text from another source.
Anything not available in full text can be requested via Interlibrary Loan.
Interlibrary Loans can take from 2 days to 2 weeks to arrive, or for you to receive notification that the article request cannot be filled.

arXiv
Archives open-access research articles in physics, math, computer science, and related disciplines. Developed and maintained by Cornell University Library.

In addition to these databases, you should check other subject areas for overlap wtih biology.

In addition to this database, you should check other subject areas for overlap wtih chemistry.

Journal of Chemical Education This link opens in a new window
Complete full text of the Journal of Chemical Education and abstracts for other journals published by the American Chemical Society are available. If you need an article from an ACS journal, please email your request to libill@greenville.edu and include “ACS Journal Article” in the subject line.

In addition to these databases, you should check other subject areas for overlap wtih medicine.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This database focuses on medical topics, including some full text articles.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Covers all areas of medicine. Abstracts included but not full text.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Includes citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. To check GU Library full text options or to request an item through interlibrary loan, click on the "Get This" option in the citation record.